National champions Jackson and Boivin lead the Canadian selection at the Worlds


New national champions Alison Jackson (Liv Racing) and Guillaume Boivin (Israel Start-Up Nation) will lead the Canadian selection for elite women’s and men’s road races at the UCI Road World Championships to be held in the Flanders region of Belgium more late this month.

Team Canada will field 19 athletes in the Junior Men and Women, U23 Men and Elite Men and Women categories for the events taking place September 19-26.

Absent from the start lists will be Michael Woods and James Piccoli (Israel Start-Up Nation), as well as Rob Britton (Rally Cycling), who declined their place in the team.

Woods was aiming for the Olympics in July and recently finished the Tour of Britain where he finished fifth overall on Sunday. He should soon compete in the Giro dell’Emilia, Tre Valli Varesine, Milano-Torino and Il Lombardia.

“Although I will not be competing at this year’s world championships. I am very excited to watch,” Woods said in a Twitter post, noting that he would join FloBikes for comment during the live broadcast of some of the events. “Check all actions related to the Worlds and a possible appearance, or two, of your servant.”

The men’s team will include Boivin, national time trial champion Hugo Houle (Astana-Premier Tech) and Antoine Duchesne (Groupama-FDJ) as well as Ben Perry (Astana-Premier Tech), Nickolas Zukowsky and Pier-André Côté (both Rally Cycling). Houle and Zukowsky will also participate in the time trial.

Canada qualified for three spots in the women’s and the elite women’s road race will consist of the same athletes who represented the nation at the Tokyo Olympics – Jackson, Karol-Ann Canuel (SD Worx) and Leah Kirchmann (Team DSM). Canuel and Kirchmann will also participate in the time trial.

Jackson is one of the rapidly rising talents in the women’s peloton, this year winning a berth in the Olympics, winning her first stage of the Women’s WorldTour at the Simac Ladies Tour where she finished eighth overall, and she won the consecutive time trial. and road race titles at the Canadian Road Championships.

Canadian team for the 2021 UCI Road World Championships

Elite Men Time Trial (September 19): Hugo Houle (Astana-Premier Tech), Nickolas Zukowsky (Cycling Rally)

Women Elite Time Trial (September 20): Karol-Ann Canuel (SD Worx), Leah Kirchmann (Team DSM)

U23 Men’s Time Trial (September 20): Francis Juneau, Raphael Parisella (Cycling Rally)

Junior Women’s Time Trial (September 21): Nicole Bradbury, Lilly Ujfalusi (Devo Cannondale)

Junior Men’s Time Trial (September 21): Dylan Bibic, Michael Léonard

Junior Men Road Race (September 24): Dylan Bibic, Michael Leonard, Quentin Cowan (Z Junior Cycling Team), Julien Matisse (Hot Tubes Cycling)

U23 Men Road Race (September 24): Raphael Parisella (Cycling Rally)

Junior women road race (September 25): Dylan Baker, Nicole Bradbury, Lilly Ujfalusi (Devo Cannondale), Isla Walker (Tripleshot Cycling)

Elite Women Road Race (September 25): Karol-Ann Canuel (SD Worx), Alison Jackson (Liv Racing), Leah Kirchmann (Team DSM)

Elite Men Road Race (September 26): Guillaume Boivin (Israel Start-Up Nation), Pier-André Côté (Rally Cycling), Antoine Duchesne (Groupama-FDJ), Hugo Houle (Astana-Premier Tech), Ben Perry (Astana-Premier Tech), Nickolas Zukowsky (Rally Cycling)


About Author

Leave A Reply