Colapinto takes third pole of G-Drive season at Monza – Sportscar365


Photo: MPS Agency

Franco Colapinto claimed third pole for G-Drive Racing of the 2021 European Le Mans Series season in qualifying for Sunday’s four-hour race at Monza.

The 18-year-old Argentinian driver rose to the top of the 18 LMP2 car standings with just under two and a half minutes remaining in the 10-minute session, edging out Louis Deletraz of the WRT team who set the pace. in the beginning.

Colapinto initially set a time of 1: 37.646, but reduced it to 1: 37.469 on his final lap to clinch pole position aboard the No.26 Oreca Aurus driven by Algarve Pro Racing.

Colapinto co-driver Nyck de Vries won the other G-Drive poles at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya and Paul Ricard earlier this year. Mikkel Jensen replaces de Vries at Monza due to the Dutchman’s conflicting Formula E commitments this weekend.

United Autosports rider Jonathan Aberdein made a late improvement to get a front row start away from Deletraz.

Aberdein’s attempt in 1: 37.893 climbed 0.424 seconds off Colapinto’s pole position, but still passed Deletraz’s first benchmark by a tenth of a second.

Deletraz was content with third place in the championship-leading WRT Oreca No. 41, which has yet to take pole in 2021 despite two races in Spain and Austria.

Ben Hanley jumped to fourth in the overall standings at the end of qualifying with a time of 1: 38.058 which also put the DragonSpeed ​​Oreca on pole in the LMP2 Pro-Am standings.

Hanley edged out Logan Sargeant, who returns to the racing team prepared by TF Sport Turkey Oreca this weekend as a replacement for Harry Tincknell. Mazda DPi driver in attendance for Audi’s New York City Reserve Driver Homework ePrix.

Ferdinand Habsburg finished sixth for Algarve Pro Racing, ahead of Giedo van der Garde in Racing Team Nederland’s Oreca of the FIA ​​World Endurance Championship.

James Allen of Panis Racing, René Binder of Duqueine Team and Nicolas Lapierre of Cool Racing completed the top ten.

In LMP3, Laurents Hoerr won his third consecutive class pole for the DKR Engineering team.

Hoerr’s effort in 1: 43.127 on the n ° 14 Nissan Duqueine D08 was enough to take pole position 0.053 seconds from Ugo de Wilde on the n ° 13 Ligier JS P320 Nissan Inter Europol Competition.

De Wilde established the second fastest sector in the class, but was slightly lower than Hoerr in an entire lap.

Garett Grist finished third for Team Virage, beating Graff driver David Droux.

Wayne Boyd, who was recently announced to United Autosports’ 24 Hours of Le Mans squad, qualified fifth in United’s No.2 Ligier.

Alessandro Pier Guidi won pole in the GTE category for Spirit of Race, beating Alessio Rovera in first place by 0.051 seconds.

The 2017 FIA Endurance GT World Champion clocked a time of 1: 46.608 to take first place in the Ferrari 488 GTE Evo which he will share with Duncan Cameron and David Perel.

Pier Guidi replaces Matt Griffin, absent this weekend for personal reasons.

Rovera finished second in the No.88 Ferrari AF Corse, while Ross Gunn placed third in TF Sport’s Aston Martin Vantage GTE.

The first six cars were covered in less than three-tenths of a second in a tight GTE qualifying which saw Porsche drivers Gianmaria Bruni and Richard Lietz take fourth and fifth places, ahead of Paolo Ruberti in the best Ferrari Iron Lynx.

RESULTS: Qualification

Daniel Lloyd

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365, covering the FIA ​​World Endurance Championship, GT World Challenge Europe powered by AWS and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, among other series.


About Author

Leave A Reply