Clevenger and Coles-Lyster return to lead DNA Pro Cycling for 2022


DNA Pro Cycling has announced that it will field an international team of 11 riders for their 10th racing season in 2022. The Utah-based continental women’s team has six returning riders, including two of its criterium leaders who assisted the team to win team honors at this year’s USA CRITS Series, Erica Clevenger and Maggie Coles-Lyster.

Clevenger won the USA CRITS Series Final in Winston-Salem, NC in a solo breakaway. The 27-year-old American finished eighth overall in the team’s only stage race this season, the four-day Joe Martin Stage Race in August.

“Obviously last year was a real challenge, and even this year in the US the start was slow compared to Europe. It’s been a very critical season so we had to change our mind, ”said Clevenger. “I’m excited to show what I have in 2022 with DNA Pro Cycling and to use my legs for more road races when he returns to the US next year.”

Coles-Lyster, 22, finished second in the USA CRITS individual leader rankings and won the award for best young rider in the 10-race series. She finished ninth overall to Joe Martin and has been on the podium 10 times in criterium events, including a victory on day two at the Winston-Salem Cycling Classic. It was his first full season with a UCI continental team.

“It was pretty amazing to end the season this way,” said Coles-Lyster, who also finished second overall on the USA Cycling Professional Road Tour calendar. “We know what we are capable of and we are learning to run the perfect race. Moving that forward with this team next year is pretty epic. “

Brenna Wrye-Simpson, Nicole Shields, Kimberly Lucie and Mia Manganello Kilburg will return as teammates of Clevenger and Coles-Lyster. Kilburg won a bronze medal at the 2018 Olympic Winter Games in Pyeongchang in long track speed skating for the U.S. team and is looking to advance to the 2022 Beijing Winter Olympics.

New additions for 2022 include Canadian Kaitlyn Rauwerda, Colombian Diana Peñuela, 2019 Mexican U23 road racing champion Anet Barrera and two American riders, Daphne Karagianis and Kira Payer.

Joining Barrera in the U23 ranks are Rauwerda and Payer, who finished second and third in the U23 rankings respectively at this year’s Joe Martin Stage Race. Rauwerda, who raced for a club team this year, is a four-time Canadian junior track champion and has held provincial road, criterium and time trial championships as a junior. Payer, who raced with the LUX-Sideshow p / b Specialized development program, is the reigning U23 time trial national champion.

Barrera raced three years for the Agolico team in Mexico, finishing second in the mountain standings and fourth in the overall standings of the Vuelta a Colombia Femenina. She added the national elite road racing crown to the U23 title in 2019.

Peñuela and Karagianis are veterans who bring valuable experience and references to the team. Peñuela’s career as an all-rounder spans 10 years of racing, including the last two seasons with the TIBCO – Silicon Valley Bank team. Karagianis is a sprinter who joins DNA after six years with the UCI and elite national teams including Illuminate and LA Sweat.

“We have built a strong and balanced team, with talented young riders paired with experienced and respected veterans. I’m really excited to build on our successful season, ”said co-owner and team manager Catherine Fegan-Kim.

The DNA Pro Cycling team, owned and operated by FCS and K4 Racing, competes on road, mountain and gravel. Sarah Kaufmann, Hanna Muegge and Quinn Bradley will continue to ride on gravel and asphalt with the DNA Ambassador Program.

DNA Pro 2022 Cycling Team

  • Anet Barrera (Mexico)
  • Maggie Coles-Lyster (Can)
  • Erica Clevenger (United States)
  • Daphné Karagianis (United States)
  • Mia Manganello Kilburg (United States)
  • Kimberly Lucie (United States)
  • Kira Payer (United States)
  • Diana Peñuela (Col)
  • Kaitlyn Rauwerda (Can)
  • Nicole Shields (NZl)
  • Brenna Wrye-Simpson (United States)


About Author

Leave A Reply