Bomarito joins Thomas at PR1 / Mathiasen



Following yesterday’s announcement from his drivers for car # 52, PR1 / Mathiasen revealed that he had landed former Mazda ace DPi Bomarito, for whom the move is a kind of homecoming.

Between 2003 and 2008, the Monterey, California-born star won several junior open-wheel races for PR1 and Mathiasen before the two teams joined forces. But in a time of malfunctioning the open-wheel ladder system, Bomarito was among several potential stars who turned to sports cars.

He won the GT class at the Rolex 24 Hours in 2010, joined the Dodge SRT Motorsports team to drive a Viper in the GT Le Mans class and finished second in the championship, before entering as a Mazda Prototype driver. Over the past three years he has won Petit Le Mans, the 12 Hours of Sebring and the 6 Hours of Watkins Glen.

Thomas started racing only three years ago and trained WIN Autosport last year, but has proven to be one of the fastest learners among Bronze ranked riders.

The duo will be joined by rising star Josh Pierson, who is still just 15, for the four rounds of the Michelin Endurance Cup, while Bomarito’s ex-Mazda teammate Harry Tincknell will be the fourth driver of the car n ° 11 for the Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona.

“We have assembled an exceptional group of new drivers for the # 11 car that will compete in the 2022 Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona,” said Ray Mathiasen, team manager. “They bring together the experience, youth and driving skills to successfully compete in this very difficult race.

“Jonathan and Harry have years of experience in this race, most recently as teammates in the Mazda DPi program. Josh brings that youthful enthusiasm and energy to his first attempt at the 24 hour race. Steven was one of the toughest competitors we’ve had in our successful 2021 LMP2 Championship season, I’m glad he’s with us now.

“We have been waiting for the opportunity to bring Jonathan back to our team for a long time. The last time he drove for us was in 2008 when we almost won the Atlantic Championship. I anticipate great things from this group.

Team principal Bobby Oergel added: “It took a long time for our tight-knit little team to become a two-car program. The past two seasons have been great with several championships and great programs within them. The opportunity to grow and add the # 11 car to our program is very unique and exciting for us in these difficult times around the world.

Thomas said: “WIN Autosport and I joined PR1 to win the championship. Bobby O’s record for LMP2 victories is unmatched. It’s been a rocket trip since I first got behind the wheel of a race car three years ago, and the poles and podiums last year made me believe that we can do even more with PR1.

“Jonathan Bomarito as co-driver for the season brings elite speed and experience, and I’m delighted to see Josh Pierson’s talent prevail in endurance racing. Because I try to drive with all the old Mazda factory drivers, we also have super-fast Harry Tincknell for Daytona. “

“It’s definitely a homecoming for me as I’ve raced for both PR1 and Mathiasen Motorsports in the past,” said Bomarito. “There are so many great people involved in this program and I can’t wait to get to the race track. Steven and Josh were very quick and easy to work with which made for a great working environment.

“The three of us will be a strong team for endurance racing. With Harry joining us for Daytona it will make us even stronger and I am delighted to be racing with him again. We have all the pieces in place to compete. to win this year! “



About Author

Comments are closed.