Bolton and Easter win gravel titles at Wasatch All-Road


Chelsea Bolton won the pro women’s division and Griffin Easter took home honors for the pro men at the 2022 Wasatch All-Road in Heber, Utah. Both Utah-based riders improved from third place in the first gravel event last year.

“It was awesome and I’m a super fan of the Wasatch Wall so my goal was to get it up as hard as possible,” Bolton said. “I was so focused on the wall that I didn’t know where I was compared to anybody else. My goal was to hit that wall hard. I did that race last year and I wanted have a faster time on the wall than last year. I’m going down slowly, so I figured if I had a chance to get into the top 3, I should climb that wall.

The Full Yeti course returned 100 miles with over 11,000 feet of vertical gain through the Uinta Range of the Wasatch Mountains. The opening section of the course brings the “Wasatch Wall”, a 5,000 foot climb through deep sand and washboards.

Bolton held off a trio of runners to secure their win. From the chasing group, Emma Grant, who finished ninth at Gravel Worlds in Nebraska, took second, 3:24 behind Bolton but 31 seconds ahead of a charged duo of Lindsey Stevenson and Crystal Anthony. On the finish circuit at the Soldier Hollow Nordic Center at Wasatch Mountain State Park, a site used in the 2002 Winter Olympics, Stevenson sprinted to the last spot on the podium.

The men’s race also saw a group of riders survive a long day of climbing on the Soldier Hollow circuit. Easter outlasted Zach Calton for the win by 40 seconds. Kyle Trudeau finished third, 26 seconds later.

“At the end the three of us entered the last 4 mile circuit around Soldier Hollow where I managed to get a split and hang on to the line. It’s not often possible to have a local race of this quality on the road with quality riders in attendance,” Easter said on Instagram.

Results Full Yeti – pro women
pos. Rider name (country) Team Results
1 Chelsea Bolton (Stay Park City Cycling) 6:50:02
2 Emma Grant (ABUS Professional Gravel) 0:03:24
3 Lindsey Stevenson 0:03:55
4 Crystal Anthony (Liv Racing Collective)
5 Caroline Tory 0:04:54
6 Sarah Jarvis (Multisport Masters) 0:39:28
seven Jesse Young 0:52:48
8 Amelia Durst 1:48:28
9 Ashley Buxton 2:03:32
DNF Libby Caldwell (Scott Bikes)
Results Full Yeti – pro men
pos. Rider name (country) Team Results
1 Griffin Easter (OpiCure Foundation p/b OrangeSeal Gravel) 5:51:10
2 Zach Calton (CaltonCoaching) 0:00:40
3 Kyle Trudeau (Czracing) 0:01:06
4 Truman Glasgow 0:07:10
5 Nathan Spratt (ABUS Pro Gravel Team) 0:08:56
6 Ryan Standish (Orange Seal/Kenda/Ventum) 0:20:42
seven Canyon Emmott (Elbowz Racing)
8 Stefano Barberi (Kenda/TheBlackBibs/Kask) 0:26:16
9 Marc Spratt (ABUS Pro Gravel Team) 0:26:37
ten John Borstelmann (ABUS Pro Gravel) 0:31:21

About Author

Comments are closed.