2022 Sebring Hall of Fame Inductees Announced


The Sebring Hall of Fame will induct five new members in 2022, including three two-time Twelve Hours of Sebring Mobil 1 winners – Jacky Ickx, Stefan Johansson and Andy Wallace – legendary journalist and sports car racing enthusiast Walter Cronkite and a famous racer and commentator David Hobbs.

The five legends will bring the total number of members of the Sebring Hall of Fame to 66 and their induction will take place during the pre-race ceremonies for the 70and Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring presented by Advance Auto Parts on March 19.

North America’s oldest and most historic sports car endurance race is round two of the International Motor Sports Association (IMSA) WeatherTech SportsCar Championship. The first 12-hour class was held in March 1952 and the first ever race at Sebring International Raceway was a six-hour event on December 31, 1950. The 2022 edition of SuperSebring will also feature the FIA ​​WEC 1000 Miles of Sebring , the Alan Jay Automotive Network 120 for the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge series and two Porsche Carrera Cup North America races.

“We are honored to have such a stellar list of inductees for 2022,” said Sebring Hall of Fame President John Shoop. “The four inductees represent nine wins and more than 20 podium finishes in major events at Sebring. Walter Cronkite was an icon of American journalism and because of his involvement in racing at Sebring, we are truly honored to have his name added to our prestigious Hall of Fame.

Six-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner Jacky Ickx has won Sebring twice in five career starts. In 1969, he won with Jackie Oliver in a Ford GT40 prepared by John Wyer. His second victory at Sebring was in 1972, co-driving a Ferrari 312PB with Mario Andretti. Ickx also recorded eight Formula 1 victories, 37 major sports car victories, the 1979 Can-Am championship and a victory in the 1983 Paris-Dakar Rally.

Stefan Johansson has won Sebring twice and secured two heartbreaking second places. His victories date back to 1984 at the wheel of a Porsche 935 with Hans Heyer and Mauricio DeNarvaez. In 1997, he won co-driving a Ferrari 333SP with Fermin Velez, Yannick Dalmas and Andy Evans. His career includes an overall victory at Le Mans in 1997 and 12 Formula 1 podiums.

Andy Wallace has a record 10 overall podium finishes at Sebring. He won consecutive 12-hour races (1992, 1993) driving Dan Gurney’s All American Racers Toyota team, both times co-driving with Juan Fangio II. Wallace also finished second five times and won the 1998 fall IMSA race at Sebring co-driving with James Weaver in a Panoz GTR-1. Wallace took a victory at Le Mans in 1988 driving for Jaguar and scored three victories in the Rolex 24 At Daytona.

David Hobbs had one of the most diverse and successful careers in motorsport, competing in sports cars, Indy cars, NASCAR and Formula 1. Although he didn’t win all 12 Sebring Hours, he won the 1969 Formula 5000 race at Sebring and finished second the following year. Hobbs has had eight career starts at Sebring and 21 starts at Le Mans, earning two podiums and a class win. Hobbs is also a well-known motorsports commentator.

Walter Cronkite was one of the most famous broadcast journalists in American history, best known for anchoring the CBS Evening News for 19 years. Cronkite was the official voice of the 12 Hours of Sebring which was broadcast nationwide on CBS radio in the 1950s. Cronkite also competed in the 1959 12 Hour Classic, co-driving a Lancia to a fifth-place finish in class . Passionate about sports car racing, he was also an accomplished navigator.

The Sebring Hall of Fame was established in 2002, Sebring’s 50and anniversary year, to recognize drivers, officials, teams, journalists and manufacturers who have made a significant contribution to Sebring’s motorsport history. Initiations take place every two years.

Members previously inducted into the Sebring Hall of Fame


Bob Akin

Mario Andretti

Derek Bell

Geoff Brabham

Rinaldo Capello

Briggs Cunningham

Derek Daly

Jim Downing

Vic Elford

Juan-Manuel Fangio

John Fitch

A.J. Foyt

Peter Gregg

Dan Gurney

Janet Guthrie

Jim Room

Hurley Haywood

Hans Hermann

Phil Hill

Al Holbert

Bob Holbert

Tom Kristensen

Denise McCluggage

Bruce McLaren

John Morton

Stirling Moss

Paul Newman

Johnny O’Connell

Roger Penske

Sam Posey

Bobby Rahal

Brian Redman

Lyn St. James

carol shelby

Dick chokes

Hans stuck

wayne taylor

Bob Tullius

Phil Walters


John Greenwood

Charles Mendez

Don Panoz

Sebring Fire Department

Reginald S. Smith

Alec and Mary Ulmann


John the Bishop

David Cowart

Charles Earwood

Ford Heacock, Sr.

Tres Stephenson


job race alex

Dick Barbour Races


Brumos Racing

Chevrolet Corvette


Joest Race




Tom McEwen


About Author

Comments are closed.